Sony Open in Hawaii Tournament Preview


The Sony Open in Hawaii is back! This is the first full-field tournament on the PGA Tour in 2024 and comes with the added interest of Gary Woodlands first professional golf tournament since his brain surgery in September 2023!

Which course is the Sony Open in Hawaii played on?

The Sony Open in Hawaii is played at the Waialae Country Club. This is a private country club located in East Honolulu, Hawaii. 97 years old- Established in 1927 and designed by Seth Raynor, it has a par 72 championship course stretching 7,125 yards from the Championship tees.

This famous golf course hosts the Sony Open in Hawaii on the PGA Tour every January as a first full-field event of the calendar year. The event started as the Hawaiian Open in 1965 and has also had several corporate sponsors since its initiation.

Who is playing in the Sony Open in Hawaii?

The full list of participants is as follows :

Ludvig Åberg, Blaze Akana, Tyson Alexander, Byeong Hun An, Aaron Baddeley, Paul Barjon, Akshay Bhatia, Alexander Björk, Zac Blair, Keegan Bradley, Joseph Bramlett, Ryan Brehm, Jacob Bridgeman, Hyden Buckley, Cameron Champ, Stewart Cink, Eric Cole, Corey Conners, Pierceson Coody, Joel Dahmen, Cam Davis, Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Tyler Duncan, Nico Echavarria, Austin Eckroat, Harris English, Matt Fitzpatrick, Doug Ghim, Lucas Glover, Will Gordon, Max Greyserman, Ben Griffin, Lanto Griffin, Emiliano Grillo, Adam Hadwin, Harry Hall, Nick Hardy, Brian Harman, Tyrell Hatton, Russell Henley, Garrick Higgo, Kensei Hirata, Ryo Hisatsune, Rico Hoey, Charley Hoffman, Tom Hoge, Billy Horschel, Mark Hubbard, Aguri Iwasaki, Stephan Jaeger, Zach Johnson, Takumi Kanaya, Yuto Katsuragawa, Chan Kim, Michael Kin, S.H. Kim, Si Woo Kim, Chris Kirk, Kevin Kisner, Kurt Kitayama, Patton Kizzire, Jake Knapp, Ben Kohles, Matt Kucher, Martin Laird, Hunter Larson, Nate Lashley, K.H. Lee, David Lingmerth, David Lipsky, Luke List, Justin Lower, Robert Macintyre, Peter Malnati, Ben Martin, Hideki Matsuyama, Denny McCarthy, Tyler McCumber, Maverick McNealy, Troy Merritt, Keith Mitchell, Taylor Montgomery, Ryan Moore, Grayson Murray, Rintaro Nakano, Matt NeSmith, Alex Noren, Vincent Norrman, Andrew Novak, Ryan Palmer, C.T. Pan, Mattieu Pavon, Taylor Pendrith, Chandler Phillips, J.T. Poston, Seamus Power, Andrew Putnam, Aaron Rai, Chad Ramey,  Chez Reavie, Davis Riley, Patrick Rodgers, Justin Rose, Matti Schmid, Taiga Semikawa, Robby Shelton, Greyson Sigg, Ben Silverman, Webb Simpson, David Skinns, Alex Smalley, Brandt Snedeker, J.J. Spaun, Scott Stallings, Kimmy Stanger, Sam Stevens, Kevin Streelman, Justin Suh, Adam Svensson, Callum Tarren, Ben Taylor, Nick Taylor, Josh Teater, Sahith Theegala, Davis Thompson, Brendon Todd, Alejandro Tosti, Sami Valimaki, Erik van Rooyen, Jhonattan Vegas, Camilo Villegas, Matt Wallace, Vince Whaley, Gary Woodland, Brandon Wu, Dylan Wu, Carson Young, Kevin Yu, Carl Yuan, Will Zalatoris

Who won the Sony Open in Hawaii in 2023?

Si Woo Kim won the Sony Open in Hawaii in 2023 after shooting and overall score of 262 (-18). Si Woo Kim shot 64 (-6) in both Rounds 3 and 4 to claim top spot.

Hayden Buckley came in second place with an overall score of 263 (-17).

In third place came Chris Kirk, with an overall score of 265 (-15).

Does the Sony Open in Hawaii have a cut?

Yes, after the first two rounds, the field will be cut, with only the top half of players playing rounds 3 and 4.

Players who make the cut will all receive some prize money!

What is the prize money for the Sony Open in Hawaii 2024?

The total purse for the Sony Open in Hawaii for 2024 has increased since last year to $8,300,00.

The overall champion will receive $1,494,099 in prize money.

How Can I Watch the Sony Open in Hawaii?

UK viewers can watch the Sony Open in Hawaii live on Sky Sports.

Leave a comment below of the name of the player who you think will win the Sony Open in Hawaii. If you're correct and you posted your comment before Friday January 12th 23:59, you will win a 1210 Golf Cap!

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.